Live for yourself

Living a life with anxiety and depression is not an easy task. I have been living with anxiety and depression since I was 12 years old; it seems like a lifetime doesn’t it? Over the years, obstacles have come and gone, and 7 years later I can tell you that the things I stressed over years ago simply do not even matter now.

It’s crazy! I used to worry about the smallest of things like if someone didn’t say hi to me in the hall or if someone didn’t like my instagram post. I over thought everything. I read into things so much that by the time I fell asleep at night I had a list of 10 things that worried me and I could never fall asleep.

Looking back on it now, I realize things like that do not even matter. I don’t care if someone back then didn’t say hi to me one day or if someone didn’t like my instagram post because in all honesty it didn’t mean anything. To this day, it still doesn’t mean anything, and in 10 years it won’t either. So why worry about the small things?

We worry about the small things because they exist at the moment.

I still have trouble not worrying about the small things because it happens in this moment. I look and read into situations or experiences too much that eventually I am no longer happy by the end of the day. Instead, I take all my energy into this negativity when I could be channeling this energy into something more positive like making friends.

At the end of the day I realized I wanted to be happy. I wanted to enjoy life more instead of taking all my time worrying about other people’s opinions on me. When I started to realize that my life is not determined by other people’s thoughts of me, man my whole life became easier.

To this day, it is still hard. I get that; there are days where I feel like breaking into tears, but then I realize people love me and already do accept me and I have to live for that and not the haters! Learn to live for you instead of others.

With love and hope,

Julia

Leave a comment